Meet The Team

The Management Board

The work of MEC is overseen by a management board, chaired by Samantha Granger, and made up of Trustees from the public, private, voluntary and community sectors. The Board meets four times a year and contributes to the organisation’s annual business plan, as well as scrutinising MEC’s project programme and finances.

Chair – Samantha Granger
Treasurer – Brian Glover

Director – Biniam Araia
Director – Valerie Cunningham
Director – Jeremy Garside
Director – Peter Gavigan
Director – Matthew Watson

Director – Catherine Maughan
Director – Kelvin McMonagle
Director – Russell Mills
Director – Ann Rigg
Director – Julia Rostron


The Director, Projects Manager and Partnership Liaison Officer are Middlesbrough Council employees seconded in to manage the Charity whilst the rest of the team are employed directly by MEC to lead and support projects.

Diane Hatfield – Finance and Admin. Manager
Margaret Tonkin – Partnership Liaison Officer
Jonathan Wright – Senior Projects Manager
Joe Dunne – Senior Projects Manager & Middlesbrough Food Partnership Chair

Rachael Proud – Active Travel Team Leader / Lead Pedestrian Trainer
Dan Gill – Lead Bikeability Trainer
Julie Brown – Active Travel Trainer
Connor Mullan – Active Travel Trainer
Scott Spitty – Active Travel Trainer
Ian Lowson – Bikeability Trainer

Matthew Allen – Climate Action Middlesbrough Co-Ordinator
Jodie Sawbridge – Climate Action Middlesbrough Project Officer

David Scriven – Communities Growing Together Project Co-ordinator
Lesley Lowe – Sustainable Living Trainer
Kim Baines – Sustainable Living Trainer
Lewis Whitewood

Sandra Hickey – Healthy Cooking Assistant
Christine Fearon – Affordable Warmth Team Leader
Connor Champion – Affordable Warmth Advisor/Admin Support
Rebecca Robson – Affordable Warmth Advisor

Lisa Harris – Eco Shop Co-ordinator

Alex Young – Middlesbrough Food Partnership Coordinator

Philip Russell – Media Relations Officer

Karen O’Hara – Development Worker (Big Local)

Carol Appleton – You’ve Got This! Administrator


arrow arrow


Communities Growing Together - Volunteer Garden Build



Communities Growing Together – Seasonal Cooking Workshop

MENVCITY Footer Branding