Meet The Team

The Management Board

The work of MEC is overseen is by a management board chaired by Councillor Julia Rostron and made up of Trustees from the public, private, voluntary and community sectors. The Board meets four times a year and contributes to the organisation’s annual business plan, as well as scrutinising MEC’s project programme and finances.


The Director, Projects Manager and Partnership Liaison Officer are Middlesbrough Council employees seconded in to manage the Charity whilst the rest of the team are employed directly by MEC to lead and support projects.

Mark Fishpool – Director
Brian Simpson – Senior Projects Manager
Mal Fitzgerald – Programme Director, South Tees Local Delivery Pilot
Amanda Bolderson – Partnership Liaison Officer

Margaret Tonkin – Active Travel Administrator
Dave Rooks – Active Travel Team Leader
Rachael Proud – Active Travel Trainer / Data Officer
Dan Gill – Active Travel Trainer
James Stubbs – Active Travel Trainer
Mark Hanson – Active Travel Trainer
Chris Scard – Active Travel Trainer
Catherine Simpson – Pedestrian Trainer Lead
Jonathan Hinley – Pedestrian Trainer (Part-Time)

David Scriven – Horticulture Training Coordinator
Kenneth Hiscock – Garden Services Supervisor
Paul Silver – Garden Services Operative

Val Lambert – Health Projects Manager: BME T2D Prevention Programme
Joe Dunne – Food Partnership Manager
Jayne Robinson – Sustainable Living Trainer
Carolyn Hill – Sustainable Living Trainer
Janet Hodgson – Sustainable Living Trainer
Sandra Hickey – Healthy Cooking Assistant

Mike O’ Reilly – Community Actions Co-Ordinator
Lesley Lowe – Sustainable Living Trainer
Kim Baines – Sustainable Living Trainer
Jonathan Hinley – Sustainable Living Trainer

Amanda Megson – Affordable Warmth Officer
Wendy Temple – Affordable Warmth Advisor
Pauline Okane – Affordable Warmth Advisor

Emily McGregor – Outdoor Activity Officer

Casper Scallen – One Planet Pioneer Project Officer
Nicky Morgan – One Planet Pioneer Project Officer
Samuel Coles – One Planet Pioneer Apprentice
Aaron Hayes – One Planet Pioneer Apprentice
Kieran Pringle – One Planet Pioneer Apprentice

Philip Russell – ICT Apprentice